You are here

News: Wednesday, November 30th, 2016

Chair & Vice-Chair elected for the Abbotsford Board of Education

The Abbotsford Board of Education has a new Chair and Vice-Chair. Trustee Shirley Wilson was elected as Chair at last night’s public meeting of the Board. Wilson was first elected to the Board of Education in 2005. She succeeds Trustee Rhonda Pauls. Trustee Stan Petersen was elected as Vice-Chair. Petersen was first elected to the Board of Education in 2011. He succeeds Trustee Cindy Schafer.

Before her inaugural address, Wilson acknowledged and thanked the time and commitment of both Trustee Rhonda Pauls and Trustee Cindy Schafer, the Board’s former Chair and Vice-Chair.

“As the Abbotsford School District continues to grow and evolve, the Board of Education remains committed to upholding a Strategic Plan that preserves the District's core values - Respect, Opportunity, and Innovation,” noted Wilson. “Seven years ago when the Board embarked on creating our Strategic Plan, we were adamant that it would not be a shelved report. We have activated our plan in everything we do and continually strive to improve. We seek success.”

The new Chair acknowledged a number of student accomplishments and highlights in 2016:

  • The Bateman Grade 9 girls won the BC Girls Basketball Junior Championships;
  • The Upper Fraser Valley Skills Competition saw our students take home a record breaking medal count – 15 gold, 7 silver, and 5 bronze;
  • The Fraser Valley Science Fair handed out 55 awards - our students took home 21 of them; and
  • The inaugural Abbotsford Aviation Program saw 12 successful graduates, with 8 further enrolling into the Bachelor of Business Administration in Aviation Degree Program at UFV.

Wilson also acknowleged that a number of key developments are on the horizon for the District and the Board, including a District-wide security protocols review and a Board evaluation process.

“We are committed to safety and student success”, expressed Wilson. “Our staff, the strength and character of our students, and our school communities will forever be the foundation of who we are.

The Chair and Vice-Chair are elected annually at a regular Board meeting.



Kayla Stuckart

Manager, Communications

Ph: (604) 859 – 4891 ext. 1206

Media Contact:

Kayla Stuckart, Communications Manager
Phone: (604) 859 – 4891 ext. 1206